Tutorial: MAMBI Happy Planner inside KikkiK Pink Planner

Left: My Happy Planner Right: My Filofax A5 Domino Patent Turquoise
Left: My Happy Planner Right: My Filofax A5 Domino Patent Turquoise
Hello everyone! I have decided to dismantle my Me and My Big Idea (MAMBI) Happy Planner and move it inside one of my A5 ring binders. I think the disc-bound system is great and the hearts on the discs made it even more adorable but I am used to the ring binder system, therefore I have decided to move my Happy Planner inside my Filofax for testing purposes. I have not seen any Youtube videos about moving the Happy Planner into another ring binder (Filofax or KikkiK) so I decided to do this post for anyone who is considering to do so.

I bought the Happy Planner from someone in a Facebook Group and the Filofax A5 Domino Patent Turquoise on eBay because it was sold out on the official Filofax websites. The Happy Planner is slightly bigger in size then the Filofax planer therefore we need to cut the Happy Planner down to fit it in the Filofax A5. I suggest moving the Happy Planner in either the Filofax A5 size or KikkiK Large Planner or Personal Planner (which is slightly bigger then Large size). Do you have those two ready yet? Good.

IMG_5153Just to let you know that I will not be held responsible if anything goes wrong with your process of trying to fit the Happy Planner inside your KikkiK or Filofax Planner! Do this if you are confident enough. I remembered I had an Erin Condren planner and after dismantling it to be put inside my Filofax Malden A5, I did not like it and ended up giving it to someone else. So remember to visualize your end goal and the purpose of you dismantling the Happy Planner to move it inside a ring binder. Carefully consider those options before reading on. There is no turning back! Are you ready?

Paper cutter, hole puncher, pencil, penknife, scissors, clear tape and TIME (at least 3 hours!)
These are the items required for the move. Paper cutter, hole puncher, pencil, penknife, scissors, clear tape and TIME. I estimated that this whole process took close to 3-4 hours with little short breaks so remember to settle yourself somewhere comfortable and with as little distraction as possible (television and music are acceptable to keep you sane). Let’s do this!

Step 1: Remove ONE month from the Happy Planner
Step 1: Remove ONE month from the Happy Planner
Step 1: Remove 1 whole month from the Happy Planner.

Starting from the first page of the planner all the way till the last page of the month. I’m starting with the month of July. Before determining which areas of the inserts to cut, I used the Filofax insert as a template. I think this is an important step. I do not do precise measurements and I rely heavily on templates. I placed the template on the top of one of the inserts for the Happy Planner to gauge how it will look like in my Filofax planner then do the necessary markings. You can skip these step because you have me to tell you which sections to cut! Lucky you!

IMG_5161
Step 2: Remove the monthly tabs
Step 2:  Remove the monthly tabs.

I saw a lot of videos with Erin Condren planners inside their ring planners and I do not like the idea of the tabs sticking out from the sides. It is also pretty hard to close effectively. This tutorial shows the Happy Planner tabs removed from the sides and MOVED to the top of the cover of each of the months. If you are looking to keep the side tabs, I am sure it will still be all right and will still fit inside the ring binder but you will have to sacrifice more paper space for that. I would totally recommend top tabs but it’s your choice.

IMG_5166
Step 3: Month page – Cut the bottom, close to the line. Cut the side with the notes section.
Step 3: Month page – Cut the bottom, close to the line. Cut the side with the notes section.

Let’s start with the month page (with the word JULY). Cut the bottom, close to the line. Then, cut the side near to the notes section. Turn the page with 2015 downwards so that the weekly page faces up instead.

IMG_5167
Step 4: Cut perforated sides, cut the bottom and cut the side close to the Notes

Step 4: Cut perforated sides, cut the bottom and cut the side close to the Notes

With the weekly page facing up and the page with 2015 behind, cut the perforated side followed by the side near the Notes section. Cut the bottom. Do take note that it means you will lose the quotes/patterns at the bottom. Only proceed if you do not mind this.Repeat for the following weekly pages.

IMG_5164
Step 5: Place an A5 insert over the Happy Planner insert, trace holes then punch holes
Step 5: Place an A5 insert over the Happy Planner insert, trace holes then punch holes

Place an A5 insert over the Happy Planner insert. You can use any Filofax A5 or Kikki K insert as a template, place it on top of your Happy Planner inserts and trace the holes over to be punched. Of course you can also do this after you are done cutting your Happy Planner inserts.After awhile, you will get the hang of the sections to be cut. Cut the bottom parts and the two sides as close to the lines as possible. That is all.

IMG_5172
Step 6: Place cut tabs on clear tape, place over the month cover page, tape the back side of the tabs
Step 6: Placing the monthly tabs

Place one cut tab in the middle of the clear tape then cut. Proceed to place the tab over the month cover page then put another tape on the back side of the tab.

Complete tabs on my Happy Planner
Complete tabs on my Happy Planner
I am not particular about the spacing and the positioning of the tabs as per the photo. I like that it is haphazardly placed (and trust me, after 3 hours you feel like this is the best thing ever you have done to a planner!). I believe that there will be others who would prefer the tabs to be aligned proper. I would recommend four months per row and ensure that the tabs are of the same size.

IMG_5170
Optional step: Happy Planner cover
Optional step: If you like to bring the cover of the Happy Planner over inside your ring binder, you can follow the above steps however I would recommend using the template and stick it on the cover page so as to be really aligned. Please make sure your paper cutter can cut through the cover. I did not however, like the black cover in my Filofax Domino so I removed it and added the Happy Planner Pocket Folder instead.

IMG_5839
Visual summary of the steps in dismantling the Happy Planner and moving it inside a ring binder!

Happy Planner
Final product: MAMBI Happy Planner inside my Kikki K Planner
I was testing the Happy Planner in my Filofax Domino Patent Aqua but found that it fits better in my Kikki K Pink Personal Planner! So happy with how it turned out! I will be using this planner mostly for scrap booking and will only update this towards the end of every month. How will you be using your Happy Planner?

Let me know if this post is helpful or if you need further clarifications on the steps. If you can think of other ways to move the Happy Planner in, share with me as well!

Thank you for your support! I definitely appreciate it!

❤ Nadia Blush @paperblushplans

3 thoughts on “Tutorial: MAMBI Happy Planner inside KikkiK Pink Planner

Leave a Reply

