Tutorial: Erin Condren Life Planner inside Filofax Planner

erincondren, filofax
Filofax A5 Original Nude & Erin Condren Plannner – Hourly & Horizontal layouts

You love how brilliant the Erin Condren Planners layout are but the spiral is just getting in the way of how you plan! This is a simple tutorial using readily availabe items showing how you can remove the Erin Condren inserts (Hourly & Horizontal layouts only) and placing them inside a ring binder so you can move the inserts around when planning.

Do take note that there is no turning back once you have ripped off the pages from your Erin Condren planner. Read through the tutorial first and decide for yourself whether it is something you are comfortable with. Have fun!

Items needed:

  1. A5 Ring Binder – (Recommended) Filofax planner / Kikkik Large planner / Carpe Diem Planner
  2. Erin Condren Life Planner – Horizontal OR Hourly
  3. Scissors / Paper Cutter (optional)
  4. Pen / Pencil
  5. 2 hole puncher / 6 hole puncher (optional)
  6. Rubbish bin (it is going to get messy, so having a bin near you makes it much easier to clean up afterwards)
  7. Round corner puncher (optional)
  8. 2-3 hours of uninterrupted me time

In my experience, KikkiK Large planners are the best if you are planning to unbound your Erin Condren planners.You can put in more inserts and the tabs are barely noticeable. I chose the Filofax A5 Original Nude planner because it is lighter compared to a Large Kikkik Planner and I do not have a Large Kikkik planner. I do not recommend a Large Dokibook because the width and the rings are slightly smaller. It is really up to your personal preference and what planners you have at hand.

In this tutorial, I choose to unbound the Erin Condren Life Planner Horizontal layout and the Erin Condren Life Planner Hourly layout, starting from May 2016-December 2016. I decided to keep my Vertical layout planner intact because I do not like the holes in my boxes thus giving me limited space to plan.

IMG_0705
Erin Condren Horizontal Layout
IMG_0706
Erin Condren Hourly Layout

So do you have all the items in mind or at hand yet? Let’s get started!

1.Tear off the pages from your Erin Condren planner.  I recommend doing it chronologically. Start from the month you want, then ensure that month has gone through all the steps first before moving on to the other months.

IMG_0729
Tear off the pages by months

2. Cut the perforated parts close to the dates (month page) using the scissors. I recommend using a paper cutter because it is faster but scissors is cheaper and readily available in any household.

IMG_0730

3. Cut the white space below the month calendar and the same measurement as the white space for the top of the page

IMG_0731

4. Cut the perforated sides close to the table lines

IMG_0732

5. Cut the white space below the NOTES table

IMG_0733

 6. Mark pages before punching holes. Ensure that all pages are aligned first. Cut bits and pieces to trim the pages if they are not aligned. Use any A5 inserts and align it on top of the first Erin Condren page. Mark where the holes are using a pen or a pencil.

IMG_0737

7. Time to punch the pages! I used 2 hole puncher because it is cheaper and readily available, however I recommend a 6 hole puncher since it is faster. My right hand was sore after punching the inserts using a 2 hole puncher! If you are using a 2 hole puncher, hold it as such so you can see the holes you are punching. If you are unclear, you can search on youtube for instructions on how to punch holes using a 2 hole puncher.

IMG_0738

IMG_0739

8. Optional step. If you have a round corner puncher, it will be great to do this. So aesthetically pleasing to have rounded corner pages.

IMG_0740

9. Repeat above steps for all your pages. Your Erin Condren Horizontal Layout month and weekly pages will look like this close up when they are inside the binder.

IMG_0741
Erin Condren Monthly inside a ring binder

The rings do cut in the monthly boxes but I am not bothered by it. I can still remove the pages and do my necessary planning.

IMG_0743
Erin Condren Horizontal Layout inside a ring binder

The good thing about the horizontal layout is that there is really ample space to plan and decorate  the layout as well. I am not so concerned that the holes cut in to parts of the date and notes because I can simply cover them up with washi tape. I do not see major inteference when planning.

IMG_0742
Erin Condren Hourly Layout inside a ring binder

This is my first time using the hourly layout.I do not think that it will intefere much with planning because to me, you can only put so much in the columns. This layout is good to track appointments or hourly activities.

Here is how my Filofax A5 Original Nude Planner looks like after both Erin Condren Hourly and Horizontal pages (May 2016-Dec 2016) are inside.

IMG_0707IMG_0708IMG_0721IMG_0720

Looking good am I right? I can barely see the side tabs and the Filofax is able to close easily. I recommend the Domino or Malden series if you are thinking of transferring the Erin Condren pages inside a Filofax. The Malden has a longer strap and is slightly wider while the Domino has an elastic strap instead of the traditional button strap so both are able to hold more pages.

I took around 4 hours to get both planners inside the binder and was really exhausted after that. Nonetheless, I think it is a good idea because I save space and I have both planners in the same binder! Not to mention I can plan and decorate as freely without being restricted by the spiral bound!

Here is how both planners look overall in the setup video.

In my planner setup, I added in 2 Erin Condren pocket folders (front and back) to hold stickers and perpetual calendar, additional note pages from both Erin Condren planners, Filofax top opening plastic envelope and note pad! Enjoy!

If you do not have an Erin Condren Planner yet, what are you waiting for! Sign up here to get $10 off your first planner! And how amazing is that Erin Condren is having a 50% sale on their 2016 Life Planners now so imagine the savings you will get! Lucky day for you!

I hope this post helps you in carrying out your creative project. If it does help you, let me know! Follow me on Instagram @paperblush for more planner related posts! ❤

Disclaimer: This post is non-sponsored and opinions expressed are of my own. All photos are mine. Please let me know if you would like to use them. Feel free to comment, suggest future posts or ask any questions about this post! Thank you!

Other Places To Find Me:
Instagram – @paperblushplans (planner-related) / @paper.muse (BUJO)
Facebook Fan Page – Paper Blush Plans
Twitter – @paperblushplans
Youtube – Nadia Blush

❤

Nadia, @paperblushplans

2 thoughts on “Tutorial: Erin Condren Life Planner inside Filofax Planner

  1. Hello
    Thank you for this useful and informative tutorial. Although I really like the EC planner with its thick quality paper and decorative but functional layout I really prefer to use my Filofax Malden. After reading your blog post and watching your video I decided to do this too. I love it best of both worlds EC in my filofax.

    Like

    1. You’re welcome! Yes I agree on combining best of both worlds! I’m sure the EC inserts will look great and is still functional in your Filofax Malden. Hope you love the end product! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

