bullet journal, bujo, bujo layout

Bullet Journal Layout (July 16)

I cannot say this enough but the bullet journal community is wonderful. They are filled with brilliant and creative people especially with their layouts and systemic organization that I personally feel overwhelmed after attempting to create fantastic and magical layouts since April 2016 (when I first started bullet journaling). I managed to take a break in June 2016 because of the fasting month and I ended up printing my daily layouts and pasting them in my bullet journal.

I reflected on how my bullet journal has helped me so far (it did help a lot) before doing one for July and I’m like screw this so I came up with this layout (the folks in the Minimalist Facebook Group love this layout of mine).

bullet journal, bujo, bujo layout, weekly layout, agenda

Beautiful weekly layout right? I tore this page up because I was slightly annoyed by having to turn to this page to refer to while writing my dailies. I had this weekly layout in May and I did not find it as annoying then compared to now but for myself personally, this is a repetition of what I am about to show you.

bullet journal, bujo, bujo layout, weekly layout, agenda
My bullet journal layout – July 2016

Ta-da! Well let me run through the anatomy of my layout with you:

1.Sidebar: This is the weekly sidebar. It is made up of 2 columns in the center of the 2 pages because think of it this way; they are the core of your week, the balance and the yin and yang of your layout. Any tasks to be done within this week? They go here. Any notes or reminders? They go here. Any appointments for random days in the month? They go here. Do you need to refer to any other pages? Not really (except maybe if you already have a monthly page). After all your tasks are in central district, it is time to delegate them to the dailies; not all at once though, one day at a time.

2. Dailies: Date and day followed by the boxes which are simple mini trackers for prayers and hydration. From here on I strongly encourage you to reflect daily (night before or before your day starts), spend a few minutes to write down tasks or reminders. I usually plan every night so for Monday, I will be planning on Sunday night. What happens is I will list the tasks, appointments, events on Monday and other tasks, notes which should be done within the week in the sidebar. On Monday night, when I am planning for Tuesday, I will scan through my sidebar and “copy” the tasks / reminders relevant for Tuesday from my sidebar into my dailies and does the same thing for the following days. If the tasks are done, I will checked off both tasks in the sidebar and my dailies. This is because when the new week starts, I will assess to see if the tasks in the sidebar are done and needs migrating. If it does, it will follow me to next week’s sidebar and dailies eventually.

IMG_2543
My Bullet Journal Layout July 2016

3. Next Week Column (optional): This is basically a summary of tasks/lists/notes to be done/noted for the following week. I say this is optional because for me I have a lot of space and I’m not sure what to do with it so I just summarize my next week’s tasks. You do not have to do this. You can immediately start on the layout for next week and migrate incomplete tasks in the sidebar from current week to the next week on Sunday night and jot down new tasks (assuming you plan like I do) which is way more efficient.

IMG_2642
Future Log in my Bullet Journal

4. Future Log : What about tasks or appointments I have a few months down the row? Where should I put them? You need the Future Log. Your future log should preferably be in the first few pages of your bullet journal for easy reference. My future log is at the back of my bullet journal because my notebook is almost finish and it is easier for me to turn to the back instead of the front. This is where I place most tasks or appointments happening in the future months. I find this format easier to work with but I am open to try more new future logs layout next month.

I am really aiming for minimal effort for this month’s layout and I think I achieve it (random decorations are from stencils). I love this layout so far but I am always open to suggestions and I am also trying to incorporate hourly but I do not want it to be complicated. I will write further reflections on my layout when I sum up my bullet journal experience in July in future posts. Trust me, there is always something new to talk about.

Is this post comprehensive enough? Do let me know if you will be trying out this layout. Remember, do not be frustrated if this layout seems to work well with me and it does not with you. You can always tweak it and if you think you managed to make it better for yourself, let me know on Instagram or in the comments. I will try and help if I can and I love to learn from everyone too!

Disclaimer: This post is non-sponsored and opinions expressed are of my own. All photos are mine. Please let me know if you would like to use them. Feel free to comment, suggest future posts or ask any questions about this post! Thank you!

Other Places To Find Me:
Instagram – @paperblushplans (planner-related) / @paper.muse (Bullet Journal)
Facebook Fan Page – Paper Blush Plans
Twitter – @paperblushplans
Youtube – Nadia Blush

❤

Nadia, @paperblushplans

One thought on “Bullet Journal Layout (July 16)

Leave a Reply

