Tutorial: Happy Planner inside Foxyfix Cover Grand No. 9

IMG_2742

This idea came to me recently. I purchased Foxyfix Cover Grand No. 9 for my blogging and social media trackers however I have not gotten around to setting it up so it is just a cover laying around my desk. I just finished planning for the day and my desk was too messy but it was late and I had no time to clear my desk. I began piling my planners and inserts and I happened to slide my Happy Planner inside Foxyfix Grand No. 9 cover. Then I thought, “Wait a minute, what if I can use this cover to set up my Happy Planner inside?” Long story short, I started brainstorming on the setup the very next day.

IMG_2743
Measurements of the planner / cover

Before we go any further, let’s learn more about the anatomy of the planners. In the photo above are the Foxyfix Notebook Cover in Petit No 1 and Grand No. 9 (just to show comparison) and the Happy Planner is at the back. Here are the measurements:

  1. Classic Happy Planner: 7” x 9.25” (pages size), 7.75” x 9.75” (cover size)
  2. Foxyfix Foxy Notebook Cover Petit No 1: 4.6″ x 5.5″ (cover size)
  3. Foxyfix Foxy Notebook Cover Grand No 9: 8″ x 10.4″ (cover size)

According to the above measurements, The Happy Planner seems to be able to fit in Foxyfix No 9 cover but with the Happy Planner cover on, it appears to be too stiff so I removed the plastic covers. It seems so much better but then I was concerned about the Happy Planner discs.

IMG_2744
Classic vs. Mini Discs

The discs on the classic happy planner created some dents when I closed the Foxyfix cover. My solution was to downsize the discs from medium to mini discs but since Happy Planner comes with inserts from July 2016-December 2017, I have to also reduce the amount of inserts before attaching the inserts to the mini discs. Currently, there is only the 2016 inserts inside my Foxyfix cover. It does not bother me that I do not have the whole planner with me and it helps to cut down the bulk if I want to put in any other inserts in the cover.

How to place the Happy Planner inside the Foxyfix Notebook Cover:

Foxyfix cover comes with 4 internal elastics. Take the first elastic, open your Happy Planner to the middle of the page (in my case, it is the October start page) and slide in your Happy Planner like you did with a normal insert (see above photo) and you are done! I also managed to sneak in a vinyl dashboard and three notebook inserts. Below are some photos of how the Happy Planner looks like inside the Foxyfix Grand No 9 Notebook Cover:

I did a flip through of the quick setup in the video below so you can see how it looks like.

My thoughts:

I have tried placing the Happy Planner in a ring bound planner setup before (see post here) and it takes a lot of time (total 3 hours) but setting up the Happy Planner in the Foxyfix cover is much faster. I generally love my Foxyfix covers and I am glad to have the Happy Planner (which I love too) inside the cover! I think it is a beautiful marriage of my favorite planners!

Items used in this tutorial:

  1. 2016-2017 CLASSIC Happy Planner™ – Botanical Garden
  2. Foxyfix FN Butterscotch Grand No. 9
  3. Foxyfix Dashboard Insert Grand No. 9
  4. Foxyfix Notebook Grand No. 9
  5. Happy Planner Mini Discs – Black

Just a reminder that this is an experimental tutorial and I have not had the chance to bring this setup outside or really play with it therefore try this out at your own risk. I would love it if you let me know when you decided to try this setup though!

Disclaimer: This post is non-sponsored and opinions expressed are of my own. All photos are mine. Please let me know if you would like to use them. Feel free to comment, suggest future posts or ask any questions about this post! Thank you!

Other Places To Find Me:
Instagram – @paperblushplans (planner-related) / @paper.muse (BUJO)
Facebook Fan Page – Paper Blush Plans
Twitter – @paperblushplans
Youtube – Nadia Blush

❤

Nadia, @paperblushplans

Leave a Reply

