Bullet Journal Setup: Work Edition

IMG_3390
Foxyfix Perfect Bound Cover A5, MUJI A5 Dot Grid Notebook & May Design Agenda 16-17

I’m starting a proper job so I have been going back and forth deciding whether I should separate work and personal in my bullet journal and finally I decided to make a separate bullet journal for work. This is because my work deals with sensitive information so to separate work and personal is a better idea for my planner.

Another tough decision is which or what notebooks should I use. I have a lot of notebooks from Moleskine to Leuchtturm and different layouts; grid, lined, dotted. Since I do not want to use my expensive notebooks for work, I decided to get a cheaper but more or less similar quality to my other notebooks. I came across Muji A5 Dotted Notebook and it was perfect. It definitely cost a lot lesser then a Leuchtturm and has around similar number of pages. The paper is a reminiscent of the ones found in a Hobonichi; thin and smooth and after a series of pen test, I am definitely satisfied with the outcome. The Muji Notebook also fits well in my recently purchased Foxyfix Perfect Bound Luna Croc which looks chic for work.

Bullet Journal for Work Setup

I have no idea what my work routine is going to be like except for the working hours, days and responsibilities but I came up with these layouts based on my previous experiences working in a similar field.

IMG_3424
BUJO: Future Log

A future log is a must. I have the Index pages & 2016/2017 calendar before the Future Log. Instead of the traditional horizontal future log, I decided to have a vertical future log and an overview of 6 months in 2 pages. This will only reflect appointments, events and monthly tasks.

IMG_3425
BUJO: Cover and Weekly Overview

Instead of the traditional monthly view, I have the weekly overview for the month in a vertical layout. I want to see what appointments and tasks/deadlines I have for the week before scheduling them in my dailies.

IMG_3426
BUJO: Weekly Overview and Daily

I have an extra column in the weekly overview dedicated for tasks with no specific deadlines, random notes or ideas. I foresee writing meeting notes, etc. in this notebook therefore this can also be a sub index page of collections for that month. My dailies will be filled in as the day goes. I have a meal and hydrate tracker on the side.

IMG_3423
Maydesign Agenda tucked behind

I also have a Maydesign Academic Agenda tucked at the back pocket of the Foxyfix cover. I call this my backup agenda. I am not sure how effective my layout will be but I am determined to make it work. I just do not want to take any chances. Another way to look at it is, since I have a separate bullet journal for my personal, this Maydesign agenda can act as the syncing planner. While scheduling for work or personal, I can refer to this book without having to take out my work or personal planner to refer to. Of course, this is an extra step which requires having this book constantly update but I am sure this will be of no issue.

IMG_3428
Inside Maydesign monthly

In terms of stationery, I decided to get a multi-colour pen and I’m currently using the Zebra Sarasa Multi-Colour 0.5 Gel Pen. It has blue, black, green, red ink and a mechanical pencil. I will be colour-coding items in my agenda for faster reference.  I also have the Foxyfix Vinyl Dashboard to tuck in name cards, receipts, etc. and to help protect my Maydesign Agenda!

Quick flip through video over on my instagram account!

A video posted by nadia n. (@paper.muse) on Aug 28, 2016 at 9:24pm PDT

So there you have it. My quick bullet journal setup for work. Pretty simple and straightforward. Let me know what you think of this post!

Disclaimer: This post is non-sponsored and opinions expressed are of my own. All photos are mine. Please let me know if you would like to use them. Feel free to comment, suggest future posts or ask any questions about this post. Thank you!

Other Places To Find Me:
Instagram – @paperblushplans (planner-related) / @paper.muse (bullet journaling)
Facebook Fan Page – Paper Blush Plans
Twitter – @paperblushplans
Youtube – Nadia Blush

Leave a Reply

